Biography

Grant Ray is a biracial soul, pop and jazz vocalist and songwriter from Miami, Florida with an instantly recognizable signature sound. With over 10 years experience singing professionally, both in various bands and solo, he has garnered a respectable resume. From casinos to weddings, clubs, cafes, restaurants and more, Grant Ray has has performed all over Florida as well as New York and has been a top tier force in local and national competitions such as Ultimate Miami voice 2015, where he was a finalist. Born in 1989 as a biracial child of an irish american mother and an afro puerto rican father who he never got to know, life did not begin kind for the young talent. Severely abused,neglected,often forgotten and made to feel like nothing, Grant discovered music as an escape from his hellish childhood and found his voice at the age of 9. Unfortunately he also found himself victim of childhood obesity, as the low income family could not afford good food. Relying on music to save him, Grant knew he wanted to become a singer when he grew up and was determined to make it happen no matter what.His weight at a high of 350 pounds by age 13, kept him back socially and forced him to hide his secret talent from the world till the age of 15 when he decided to make the lifesaving change that would transform him into the person he was meant to be. In 5 months Grant lost an astounding 100 pounds and soon lost 50 more through brutal hard work and undying willpower and was no longer the shy, affraid child scared to let his voice be heard. A near deadly eating disorder soon followed , putting his life in jeopardy. After ending up in many hospitals , Grant found his way out of the mess and remembered music comes first. Upon discovering bodybuilding , a transitional period once again began and only a few years later Grant came back a 170 pound athlete with 5% bodyfat - an incredible long way from his former 350 pound self. Having had music on the sideline while achieving these victories , he knew he was finally ready to hit the stage and the ground running. After taking some time to re-develop his voice after a traumatizing audition for AMERICAN IDOL at age 18, Grant soon found a home in the nightlife entertainment venues of miami and began perfecting his stage and vocal presence over the next couple years. A vocal spectacle folks never saw coming, he continued to impress the crowds and leave his mark with his soulful, gritty and often nuclear powered vocal acrobatics inspired throughout his life by his heroes whitney houston, Michael jackson, Mariah carey, Prince and many other r&b legends. Grant , not having been in the studio since age 12 when he recorded his first demo , made his return to record his first original song JUST WITH THE RIDE, a club pop banger with heavy production and a mainstream pop vibe which was a big personal achievement for the singer. From there on there was no stopping him. He embarked on his journey and recorded his first Ep: Grant Ray as a series of singles over the span of the next few years. While pursuing his original music, Grant became a regular in local gigs, performing a wide range of cover material, from soul to rock to jazz to classic pop to top 40.He quickly learned to cater to every audience and always had an advantage over other artist's because of this. Grant has gained praise from locals and fans worldwide and is a respected artist despite his young age. He went on to release his autobiography, "A CONSTRUCTION OF HOPE" in 2018 and opened his own online boutique "LEONWORLD" the same year. He is currently performing at various lounges and restaurants throughout Miami and Broward and is preparing more shows both in Miami and Atlanta. One thing is for sure, Grant Ray is a man on a mission!

News

Shows

  • Jan 05 Fri

    08:00 PM

    MODERN SIXTIES WINE LOUNGE

    1828 EAST SUNRISE BLVD FORT LAUDERDALE , 33304

  • Feb 11 Sun

    12:00 AM

    Pride fort lauderdale

    Grant ray set to perform at Pride Fort lauderdale Sunday, Feb 11th at noon. 

  • Apr 20 Fri

    09:00 PM

    MIAMI LIVE

    912 71st street, miami beach, florida

  • Oct 03 Wed

    08:30 PM

    NYSW JAZZ LOUNGE

    107 SW 6th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301nysw jazz lounge

  • Oct 20 Sat

    08:00 PM

    MODERN SIXTIES WINE LOUNGE

    1828 E. SUNRISE BLVD, FL, 33304

  • Nov 07 Wed

    08:00 PM

    1306 MIAMI

    1306 NORTH MIAMI AVENUE. MIAMI , FL  33136

  • Nov 24 Sat

    08:00 PM

    THE NATIONAL HOTEL SOUTH BEACH

    1677 COLLINS AVENUE , MIAMI BEACH , FL 33139

  • Dec 29 Sat

    06:00 PM

    THE MARIOTT DELRAY BEACH

  • Nov 30 Sat

    12:00 PM

    BAYSIDE MARKETPLACE

    401 BISCAYNE BLVD. MIAMI, FL. 33132.

  • Jan 05 Sat

    06:00 PM

    THE ADDISON

  • Jan 30 Wed

    06:00 PM

    ILL GREENHOUSE GRILL

    1300 NW 3RD AVE . MIAMI , FL 33136.

  • Jan 31 Thu

    05:30 PM

    LIL GREENHOUSE GRILL

    1300 NW 3RD AVE . MIAMI, FL 33136.

  • Feb 06 Wed

    05:00 AM

    LIL GREENHOUSE GRILL

    1300 NW 3RD AVE. MIAMI, FL 33136.

  • Feb 07 Thu

    05:00 PM

    LIL GREENHOUSE GRILL

    1300 NW 3RD AVE . MIAMI, FL 33136.

  • Feb 11 Mon

    09:00 PM

    SOUND BAR

    2440 WILTON DRIVE . WILTON MANORS, FL 33305.

  • Feb 13 Wed

    05:00 PM

    LIL GREENHOUSE GRILL

    1300 NW 3RD AVE . MIAMI, FL 33136.

  • Feb 14 Thu

    05:00 PM

    LIL GREENHOUSE GRILL

    1300 NW 3RD AVE . MIAMI, FL 33136.

  • Feb 18 Mon

    09:00 PM

    SOUND BAR

    2440 WILTON DRIVE . WILTON MANORS, FL 33305.

  • Feb 20 Wed

    05:00 PM

    LIL GREENHOUSE GRILL

    1300 NW 3RD AVE . MIAMI, FL 33136.

  • Feb 21 Thu

    05:00 PM

    LIL GREENHOUSE GRILL

    1300 NW 3RD AVE . MIAMI, FL 33136.

  • Feb 24 Sun

    02:00 PM

    PRIDE FORT LAUDERDALE

    1100 SEABREEZE BLVD, FORT LAUDERDALE, FL 33136.

  • Feb 27 Wed

    05:00 PM

    LIL GREENHOUSE GRILL

    1300 NW 3RD AVE . MIAMI, FL 33136.

  • Feb 28 Thu

    05:00 PM

    LIL GREENHOUSE GRILL

    1300 NW 3RD AVE . MIAMI, FL 33136.

  • Mar 06 Wed

    05:00 AM

    LIL GREENHOUSE GRILL

    1300 nw 3rd ave. Miami, Fl 33136

  • Mar 07 Thu

    05:00 AM

    LIL GREENHOUSE GRILL

    1300 nw 3rd ave. Miami, Fl 33136

  • Mar 13 Wed

    05:00 PM

    LIL GREENHOUSE GRILL

    1300 NW 3RD AVE. MIAMI, FL 33136.

  • Mar 14 Thu

    05:00 PM

    LIL GREENHOUSE GRILL

    1300 NW 3RD AVE. MIAMI, FL 33136.

  • Mar 19 Tue

    07:00 PM

    TEA & POETS

    5701 SUNSET DRIVE. UNIT 126. SOUTH MIAMI 33143.

  • Mar 20 Wed

    05:00 PM

    LIL GREENHOUSE GRILL

    1300 NW 3RD AVE. MIAMI, FL 33136.

  • Mar 22 Fri

    05:00 PM

    LIL GREENHOUSE GRILL

    1300 NW 3RD AVE. MIAMI, FL 33136.

  • Apr 03 Wed

    06:00 PM

    LIL GREENHOUSE GRILL

    1300 NW 3rd ave. Miami, FL 33136.

  • Apr 04 Thu

    06:00 PM

    LIL GREENHOUSE GRILL

    1300 NW 3rd ave. Miami, FL 33136.

  • Apr 10 Wed

    06:00 AM

    LIL GREENHOUSE GRILL

    1300 nw 3rd ave. miami, fl 33136.

  • Apr 11 Thu

    06:00 AM

    LIL GREENHOUSE GRILL

    1300 nw 3rd ave. miami, fl 33136.

  • Apr 17 Wed

    06:00 PM

    LIL GREENHOUSE GRILL

    1300 NW 3rd ave. miami, fl 33136.

  • Apr 18 Thu

    06:00 PM

    LIL GREENHOUSE GRILL

    1300 nw 3rd ave. miami, fl 33136.

  • May 18 Sat

    07:00 PM

    THE WILD ORCHID

    1111 NE 125TH STREET. MIAMI, FL 33161.

  • Jun 05 Wed

    10:00 AM

    1306 MIAMI.

    1306 NORTH MIAMI AVE. MIAMI, FLA 33136.

  • Jun 29 Sat

    07:00 PM

    THE WILD ORCHID

    1111 NE 125TH STREET. MIAMI, FL 33161

  • Jul 05 Fri

    08:00 PM

    LYRIC THEATER

    819 NW 2ND AVE, MIAMI

  • Jul 13 Sat

    07:00 PM

    THE WILD ORCHID

    1111 NE 125TH STREET. MIAMI, FL 33161.

  • Aug 31 Sat

    08:00 PM

    TEA & POETS

    5701 SUNSET DRIVE. UNIT 126. SOUTH MIAMI 33143.

  • Sep 19 Thu

    05:00 PM

    BAYSIDE MARKETPLACE

    401 Biscayne Blvd. Miami, Fl 33132

  • Sep 26 Thu

    06:00 PM

    VINOS IN THE GROVE

    2889 McFarlane Rd. Miami, Fl 33133

Music

Shop

Contact Us

(786)991-3139 grantr52@gmail.com